Economics Students performed brilliantly at SAESM

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

The Economics Society, LUMS participated in the 14th Annual South Asian Economics Students’ Meet (SAESM) which was held in Chittagong, Bangladesh from January 18 to January 21, 2018.

We are delighted to announce that Muhammad Ibrahim Khan, Ramsha Hisham, and Abdul Hadi (joint winner) won the Best Research Paper Award in their respective themes. In addition to this, Muhammad Ibrahim Khan also qualified for the final round of the challenging budding economist competition and was also a joint winner of the prestigious Sen-Haq Award, which is awarded to the best research paper across all ten themes. For the first time in SAESM history, a cross-country debate competition was organized which was jointly won by Sarim Jamal and his Indian co-delegate. The Pakistan team consisting of Abdul Hadi, Sindhika, Asma Nasr, and Iswa Wasif came second in the quiz competition. Saad Hanif, Alizeh Arif, and Sonan Ahmed all managed to reach the 3rd round of the budding economist competition and were placed amongst the top 12 from 28 participants.

The idea behind SAESM, which started in 2003, was to provide a platform for the South Asian undergraduate students of economics to interact with each other, exchange ideas, and discuss economic issues in an out-of-class environment. Participants either write a research paper and present it, or participate in a multiple round competition to contest for the honor of The Budding Economist of South Asia. An economics debate competition, grounded on a British Parliamentary format, was also organized for the first time in SAESM history.

Countries that participated in the meet were India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal, and Bhutan.

This year, the Pakistani student delegation participated in the conference under the supervision of Dr. Syed Turab Hussain (SAESM country coordinator) and Dr. Irfan Qureshi. The delegation of ten students consisted of nine students from LUMS and one from the Lahore School of Economics.
The delegation details are as follows:

1.  Abdul Hadi (Team leader)
2.  Asma Nasr
3.  Muhammad Ibrahim Khan
4.  Iswa Wasif
5.  Ramsha Hisham
6.  Saad Hanif
7.  Sarim Jamal
8.  Sonan Ahmed
9.  Sindhika
10. Alizeh Arif (LSE)

This year’s meet was supported by the World Bank which has been associated with SAESM since 2006. World Bank’s lead economist, Sanjay Kathuria and World Bank’s chief economist for South Asia, Martin Rama addressed the delegates.

Dr. Selim Raihan and students of Dhaka University did an exceptional job in organizing the conference, closing it with a very entertaining retreat at the Bay of Bengal. The Pakistani students played their role as country ambassadors and engaged wholeheartedly in creating an atmosphere of friendship and cooperation. Not only did all the students perform exceptionally well in their respective academic events, Pakistan was at the forefront of all social events, thus contributing to making SAESM a great platform for regional integration.