Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS)

INTRODUCTION

Welcome to the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS) – the largest and most diverse department at LUMS. With almost 50 PhDs across the humanities and the social sciences, we offer majors in: Anthropology and Sociology; English; Political Science; History; Economics and Politics. In addition, we also offer minors in: Philosophy, the Study of Religion; Psychology; Comparative Literary and Cultural Studies.

The department aspires to offer a rigorous and innovative humanities and social sciences undergraduate program of the highest international standards taught by a community of world-class scholars. HSS is committed to groundbreaking interdisciplinary research which contributes to the creation of knowledge and the vibrancy of the teaching curriculum. Both teaching and research will contribute to a reflective, empathetic, and historically informed understanding of current issues of both local and global relevance.

Our vision it to have our students graduate with the capacity to explore widely and deeply, think creatively and critically, and express ideas clearly and effectively. By realizing their full intellectual and personal potential, students will contribute to the world around them through inspirational leadership and transformative community participation. The department seeks to contribute to the betterment of society in Pakistan and the wider region and to nurture individuals to be principled, intellectually engaged, and socially responsible.

 

HSS Team

 

Name

Designation

Email

Extension

Sophiya Anjum

Manager

sophiya@lums.edu.pk

8111

Naseer ud Din

Assistant Manager

naseer.uddin@lums.edu.pk

8113

Mehreen Jamil

Senior Officer

mehreen.jamil@lums.edu.pk

8114

Hinna Zahid

Senior Officer

hinna.zahid@lums.edu.pk

8117

Zofia Javed

Junior Program Coordinator

zofia.javed@lums.edu.pk

2121

Salman Amin

Senior Administrative Assistant

salman.amin@lums.edu.pk

2118

Um Ul Buneen

Senior Administrative Assistant

buneen@lums.edu.pk

2311

Usman Amin

Administrative Assistant

usman.amin@lums.edu.pk

2115

 

MAJORS AND MINORS

 

MAJORS

MINORS