Department of Economics

INTRODUCTION

The Department of Economics seeks to contribute to questions at the frontier of economic knowledge by drawing on the regional laboratory of economic and social life in South Asia and by collaborating with academics based at global centers of excellence in economic research. The Department has 20 full-time PhD faculty members who have graduated from renowned institutions in the US, the UK, and Canada, and who are dedicated to teaching and conducting research in areas such as macroeconomics, microeconomics, development, environment, trade, and finance.

Our undergraduate program provides Economics majors with a comprehensive knowledge of important theoretical and applied concepts in the field. We encourage our majors to learn how to pose interesting economic questions and apply economic theory and empirical methods in solving problems. Students are able to choose from three major areas: Economics; Economics-Political Science; Economics-Mathematics. Our undergraduate students go on to careers in government, law, education, and business, with many pursuing post-graduate degrees.

The graduate program is designed for fresh graduates as well as professionals seeking further training in Economics for career progression or change. MS Economics encourages you to apply your training to address and resolve major challenges in business and policy. We offer a two-track MS Economics program after 16 years of education. The 1.5 year degree program is designed for those with sufficient prior background in Economics and Quantitative Economics at the undergraduate level. The 2.5 year program is designed for students who do not have a prior background in Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Econometrics.

Econ Team

 

Name

Designation

Email

Extension

Hanaa Noor Malik

Assistant Manager

hanaa.malik@lums.edu.pk

2169

Haleema Murtaza

Senior Program Coordinator

haleema.murtaza@lums.edu.pk

2241

Mohammad Jamshaid Iqbal

Program Coordinator

Jamshaid.iqbal@lums.edu.pk

8071

Khalid Pervaiz

Senior Program Associate

khalidp@lums.edu.pk

8223

Maria Usman

Administrative Assistant

maria.usman@lums.edu.pk 2244
Muhammad Rashid

Senior Officer

mrashid@lums.edu.pk 8077

 

Majors and Minors (Undergraduate)

 

MAJORS

MINORS

 

Majors and Minors (Graduate)